History

History
© ORCH / Fondazione di Venezia

History

Casa dei Tre Oci was built in 1913, during a historic period when the Giudecca was the focus of important architectural and town planning changes, such as construction of the new Junghans industrial complexes and the Stucky mills, along with the creation of vast popular and middle class residential estates. Conceived as a studio-home for Mario, who designed it and enthusiastically supervised its construction, it was his son Astolfo, a painter like his father, who lived in it with his wife Adele. The house was always a place of artistic and cultural production, a centre for meetings and debates, a studio for artists taking part in the Biennale and a welcoming space for intellectuals visiting Venice, remaining vibrant and active until the end of the 1980s. Thanks to Adele and Giulio Macchi, who she married after Astolfo's death, it hosted internationally famous figures including Vittore Grubicy, Hundertwasser, Peggy Guggenheim's daughter, Sciltian, Morandi, Fontana and Dario Fo; who used it as a workshop for his Harlequin of 1985.